Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Identifying Canines in the bush, forests and field meadows for hunting purposes?

Identifying Canines in the bush, forests and field meadows for hunting purposes?

----deleted------
    Last edited by Jelvis; 01-03-2014 at 02:09 PM.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Identifying Canines in the bush, forests and field meadows for hunting purposes?

coyotes are smaller and skinnier than wolves , features are a little more feminine or even fox like ( pointier face ) . All the coyotes around here seem to have sandy coloured coats , usually a little grey under fur and black tips on the hairs .
    I believe wolves are more thick in the front , although I'm no expert .
    You see enough coyotes and you'll recognise them from a mile away . They have a certain walk , kind of a short stride and it looks like theyre running on theyre tip toes .
    Dogs seem a little more lumbering in theyre stride , they have a different gait and they almost seem more clumsy .
    I don't know about responding to a call , but when you see a coyote they always look like theyre on a mission , and they almost always seem to stop once theyre near cover and look at you . Dogs on the other hand seem to be more aimless and easilly distracted. Think of when you see dogs roaming youre neighberhood , theyre on vacation and sight seeing , wereas when you see a coyote theyre generally at work and seem to know were there going and what theyre doing .
    As for vocalising , coyotes make more of a broken yip call , not the long toned howl that wolves are known too . As far as I know , niether wild species is known to bark .
    I kill things and eat them.

Re: Identifying Canines in the bush, forests and field meadows for hunting purposes?

--------------------
    Last edited by Jelvis; 01-03-2014 at 02:10 PM.

coyotes have nicer bums too

---------------------
    Last edited by Jelvis; 01-03-2014 at 02:10 PM.

SHAKER is offline Hound dawger reborn......