Thread: Question: Recurve Bow Draw Length

Question: Recurve Bow Draw Length

Hey folks,

My father in law has a custom recurve bow that he would like to give me...I have plenty of experience with compound bows but zero with recurves. The problem is that I have a 32" draw and he has a 30" draw, are recurves like compounds in that they should be tailored to your specific draw length?? I do believe it has a 60 lb draw weight...Many thanks in advance.

'rifle
    Last edited by longrifle; 06-21-2010 at 10:40 AM.
    Nearly all people can stand adversity, but if you want to test a person's character, give them power.

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Question: Recurve Bow Draw Length

Quote Originally Posted by longrifle View Post
    Hey folks,

My father in law has a custom recurve bow that he would like to give me...I have plenty of experience with compound bows but zero with recurves. The problem is that I have a 32" draw and he has a 30" draw, are recurves like compounds in that they should be tailored to your specific draw length?? I do believe it has a 60 lb draw weight...Many thanks in advance.

'rifle
    I assume with a 32" draw your are not only a longrifle, but a longfellow. Performance will depend on the length of the bow. If it's a short bow and with a 32" draw you may compromise performance, but there are ways around that.

If the recurve is a 62" there should not be much in terms of performance issues. The bow is likely built for 28" or 30" draw length. Probably says so on one of the limbs. At a longer draw you just add to the speed of the arrow.

Thanks for the info J T.

So, the extra draw length won't cause the limbs to come apart?

Thanks.

'rifle
    Nearly all people can stand adversity, but if you want to test a person's character, give them power.

Bow Walker Guest

As J_T said - as long as the bow is in (or around) the 62 inch long area you should be good to go. The extra draw length will just add a few extra pounds to the draw weight. Start flinging!