Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: high powered long range bolt action

high powered long range bolt action

I'm pretty new with firearms in general I just took the NonRestricted and Restricted safety courses and I've been looking around for my first rifle that I want to buy for when I get my license in a couple months. I'm just wondering if anyone here could help me out and recommond some strong power bolt action rifles that have good long range accuracy.

Thanks

2. Site Sponsor

Re: high powered long range bolt action

Get a .22 first, then start wasting money
    If you Live Life with no risks, you risk living life at all!

Ditto on the 22LR comment. Get one, and about 2,000 rounds of ammo, and shoot all of it. Rinse, lather, repeat on a weekly basis for a couple of months.

For a "first big rifle", it's hard to beat a Savage. They ain't pretty, but by and large they are the most accurate "off-the-shelf" rifle available at any price. They're also pretty affordable.

Caliber - I would recommend one of the "standard" (308, 30-06, 270, or maybe if you insist on a magnum, a 7mag). Any of the above will work just fine for anything you plan to shoot with it.

308 Winchester is my personal favourite - I like the short stubby cases, I like short action rifles, and I am a cheapskate and 308 Winchester ammo is the cheapest 'big gun' caliber there is. Appropriately loaded, a 308 Winchester is capable of smacking deer size stuff at ranges well beyond what you should ever consider shooting at one, and moose/elk size stuff out to 300-ish yards (which is probably also still beyond what you should consider shooting at a critter - unless you've got a really good rest and a lot of practice under your belt). But that's just my reasoning for my favorite caliber - any of the aforementioned calibers would be a great choice.
    Last edited by brotherjack; 11-29-2007 at 11:48 PM.
    "...the truth will make you free." John 8:32