Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Recommend a gun

Recommend a gun

Hey guys,

im new to hunting and shooting. I went out hunting in princeton last year and ever since, im hooked lol.

Im looking to buy my first gun when my pal gets here.

Anyone wanna recommend a good calibre for a all around good gun?

I was looking at the .30-06, you can find ammo just about anywhere so. ya

2. Site Sponsor

Re: Recommend a gun

My first rifle was a 30.06 and im super happy with my choice.

I am in the market for a new rifle and its going to a 30.06 and most likely a Thomson Center Prohunter.

The best is to try and shoot or look at as many rifles as you can before desiding.
    Thompson Center ProHunter - Owner/Operator

Level A Welder / Fabricator by Trade

i would get a 308.win or the 30-06 spfl..iv shot both many many times...both have lots of power for every big game animal in B.C.. and lots of ammo avalible.low kick.light guns. but what ever you feel comfortable shooting

WELCOME!! to our humble site
    I'm sure you will get lots of response to your question. Personally l don't like the 30-06 for no better reason that its toooo mainstream for my liking and there are so many other choices. While its most certainly a good choice for all round hunting in BC, especially if your only planning on one gun to do it all, so is the .270, .308, 7x57 etc......half the fun is deciding!! Join your local gun club and show up at the range with an open mind and ask other shooters what they think.......l can't count how many different toys belonging to other fellows l have shot because of a conversation that started by asking how they liked their rifles/pistols.
    “To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize.”- Voltaire

There will be a good gun show in kamloops in april,lots of guns.

The ol'e o6 is tried and proven. I agree. Get to a range and start talking to people.

Where are you from?
    I'm due for a range session...

Mr. Dean,