PDA

View Full Version : Grouse Hunting in Region 2

grousehunter
10-08-2013, 09:54 PM
Hi all,

I'm a new crossbow hunter in the LML looking for more information on where to hunt grouse within 2 hours of Vancouver. I'm interested in hunting grouse in either MU 2-8, 2-4, 2-3, 2-19, 2-7, 2-9, etc. I've heard grouse hunting in Squamish or behind Britannia Mine is good. If you hunters could point me in the right direction on where to go that would be super helpful.

Thanks!

caddisguy
10-09-2013, 10:47 AM
Hi all,

I'm a new crossbow hunter in the LML looking for more information on where to hunt grouse within 2 hours of Vancouver. I'm interested in hunting grouse in either MU 2-8, 2-4, 2-3, 2-19, 2-7, 2-9, etc. I've heard grouse hunting in Squamish or behind Britannia Mine is good. If you hunters could point me in the right direction on where to go that would be super helpful.

Thanks!

I'm new to hunting as well, but I have spent a lot of time on the wet coast lower rainland dirt roads and trails and have concluded that grouse come so few and far between that expectations should not be high. Grouse populations struggle in wet environments. The little cheepers need to keep dry in their battle for survival. You can hike for miles or burn many tanks of gas without seeing grouse. To increase the odds, your best bet is probably road hunting gravel roads near deciduous forest with a moderately open canopy in the evening time starting around 3-4pm until dusk.

The MU's you mention are close the same. I would favor 2-19 and 2-9 slightly... I see them in 2-2 from time to time as well, but considering the time and gas spent searching these regions, if re-invested by venturing a little further east and a little north, perhaps into 8-5 or 3-14, you will increase your odds a little more.

TheProvider
10-09-2013, 12:22 PM