PDA

View Full Version : Missed a good Chance Today!

Redneck Rocket
10-07-2013, 10:09 PM
I'm new to hunting this year. Have bagged some Hares, Quail and Grouse but still looking for my first ungulate. I'm envious of some of you guys getting away on longer trips. I am a full-time care giver for my wife who has a chronic illness, as well as working full time from home to provide for us. So my excursions are limited to 2-3 hours at a time, and close to home. I have done some scouting in my local area during the summer while out fishing, and been shown a couple of good spots. I have been out at dusk 4 or 5 times now in an area that has lots of good, fresh Elk & deer activity.

So far the closest I've come was a flash of white through the trees at some distance away. Tonight I popped out for a quick couple of hours and had my best opportunity to date. I was moving quietly through some broken woodland, periodically calling & waiting. Crested a brow up to a clearing and called. Waited for a few minutes and heard nothing. Stood up and took a few steps and spooked a pair of white-tails perhaps 80 yards to my right. I tried to call them back in but no luck. Followed the tracks and found some VERY fresh Buck Mud, steaming....

Couldn't find them, but my blood was running knowing I had managed to get that close to a buck. I can't wait to bag the first one. Feel like I'm learning more each time I'm out and it is only a matter of time.

Hank Hunter
10-07-2013, 10:14 PM
Keep at it, you are right. It is only a matter of time. Each time you go out you are learning something new.

Blainer
10-07-2013, 10:18 PM
Where do you live?
As some may offer help

showtimebc
10-07-2013, 10:21 PM
Good luck! If you live close to kamloops, send me a pm, I'd like to see you get a buck!

Redneck Rocket
10-07-2013, 10:23 PM