PDA

View Full Version : Where are the closed gates?

Farquharson
10-01-2013, 05:04 PM
Hello all,

I am a long time lurker and first time poster.

I'm new to hunting in BC although I have lived in the Lower Mainland for >10 years. I always go back to my home province of Alberta to hunt white tail and Elk with friends and family.

The first thing that has held me back here has been not having local buddies who are also current hunters. Fortunately, that's changed and I now have a few partners to choose from who have similar style to me: basically safety, ethics, and fun as priorities.

The other thing that's held me back is that I'm not so much of a road hunter. I have nothing against the folks who spend all day running FSRs on a quad or in a pickup looking for deer; I'm sure it's a blast and I have loved every quadding trip I've been on. But I like to separate my motorsports from my hunting.

The type of hunting that I enjoy most involves integrating with the environment and moving quietly over land under my own power -- preferably off a road. I like hearing the birds wake up at first light, and I like listening for snorts in a clearing that I can't see into yet, feeling the wind shift across my face.

The Alberta foothills are a walking hunter's paradise: endless acres of mixed trees and open fields, low rolling hills, no rain in the fall, and much of it closed to motorized access. You can spend a week stalking and never cross the same place twice, and I do most years.

On the coast, the equivalent to an open field seems to be a clearcut and those by definition all have road access as near as I can tell.

I have seen beautiful country between Merritt and Kamloops, and from the 97C that I would love to hunt. I have also hiked and canoed Wells Gray a fair bit and am tempted to hunt it as well.

Unfortunately my job gives me very little vacation and only lets me get away on weekends. So a 300km drive to get to my hunting grounds is both time and cost prohibitive.