PDA

View Full Version : archery and shotgun deer reg 2

jetboat jim
09-23-2013, 06:42 PM
well this all started last year I went to a spot I have been hunting since 2010 , I parked in my usual spot and was going to finish my coffee , 20 minutes before daylight a truck pulls up , I get out to ask what his plans are and where he's headed ( we were at 2 spur rds off the main rd) he was a really nice fella, he said hes headed up to the first slash to go timber cruising .... I told him I wanted to hunt the rd that ran behind and up the mountain . he offered to give me a ride up and I jumped in . we have stayed in touch since via texting with a few calls. now to the good stuff ......on sunday I decided to head to that local spot and do a few hours of walking and timber cruising , as most of you know the weather was very wet , not much wind but rain and fog.....I was ugly . at several points I just wanted to turn around and crawl back into a nice warm dry bed. I got to the first slash that I have seen several deer in and its just off the road (more like a trail) after 10 minutes and only 1/2 hour into my walk I started to move along, I usually don't see many deer for the next 10-15 mins of walking ...........to my surprise 40 yards in front of me I see 2 deer coming down the trail , a little excited I watched them as the came close ( they knew I was there but were not alarmed) I seen it was 2 does so I started to move a little as they stopped at 20 yards I notice the bigger one was a spike buck ..... they stepped off the road at 8 yards and went into the timber , I followed I played cat and mouse for 1/2 hour with them but they kept moving not giving me a clear shot with my bow. the buck final cleared the trees at 30 yards and gave me a clean shot.....thwack .... http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r163/jetboatjimmy/image_zpsb7d3c0f5.jpg after 20 minutes I found the arrow , with blue knockturnal lighted knocks it was easy.....I decided to give the deer some time to bed as I