PDA

View Full Version : Anyone hunt in the Valemount area?

davet
09-08-2013, 09:02 AM
well i just spent a week hunting in 3-30. and nothing !!!! this is my first year hunting so i do need to learn a few things.

I am interested to drive and spend a few days hunting up in Valemount.

Has anyone hunting in that area in mid october?

anyone willing to give me some pointers Please !!!! Or even a better spot to go.

thanks so much
Dave

BearStump
09-08-2013, 02:47 PM
punch in the word Valemount into the search box. You'd be surprised how much info can be gained by just spending a couple hrs reading through threads. Then write down the names of the FSR's that keep getting mentioned in those threads. Then get a backroads map book and figure out where the heck you want to start. Also spend some time on google earth looking around the area that you've lowered it down to. Before you know it you'll feel like you know the area pretty well and you'll be confident while driving out there that you know where you're going.
All that being said, nothing beats feet on the ground scouting trips.

tuner
09-08-2013, 02:52 PM
why go so far ? there are plenty of hunting opportunities within 2.5 to 6 hours of here.

ruger#1
09-08-2013, 03:03 PM
well i just spent a week hunting in 3-30. and nothing !!!! this is my first year hunting so i do need to learn a few things.

I am interested to drive and spend a few days hunting up in Valemount.

Has anyone hunting in that area in mid october?

anyone willing to give me some pointers Please !!!! Or even a better spot to go.

thanks so much
Dave
The time to hunt 3-30 is mid october. Then the deer will be migrating. And it will be any bucks.

KB90
09-08-2013, 03:04 PM
If I was going to drive all the way from the lower mainland Valemount would not even be on the radar.

Remmy
09-08-2013, 03:10 PM