PDA

View Full Version : Trail cams

Rob Chipman
09-01-2013, 06:12 PM
The last moose picture we got was from an iPhone looking through binoculars.

The trail cam pics that some members here have shown are outstanding, so I'd like some advice:

What's your favorite trail cam?

Where do you locate them?

How long do they last?

How often do you check them?

I really like the idea of knowing what's around, whether it's something I hunt or not. All help appreciated!

Ry151
09-01-2013, 07:08 PM
I am still learning with my cameras and what works best but what I do is find a well used game trail in a nasty area and put my camera there so there is less chance of it being found by a thevies. I put a couple different salt blocks out in front of it so that animals will at least stop to sniff them allowing for a good picture. Depending on the area I take the cameras down for hunting season so that they don't get stolen or when it snows I take them down or leave them for the winter unless there is a snow fall warning and then I go switch sd cards so my tracks are covered. It's worked pretty well so far for me and find it vary addictive to want to go check them to see what pics I've gotten

MOWITCH SLAYER
09-01-2013, 07:31 PM
i mostly hunt public land, so the chance of my cameras going missing is a real possibility, so i use camera"s that never cost allot.I have a bushnell, a primos and a remington , all bought on sale for around $120. they all take the pics i need to find the game i want to hunt. The pictures are not the best but if they go missing they have payed for them selves. the remington is the hardest on batteries but it takes better night pics than the premos. I use my camera year around for the last two years and they all are still in the bush working (I hope) good luck in the coming year

Sitkaspruce
09-02-2013, 08:53 PM