PDA

View Full Version : My first time hunting for Grouse

triden
08-29-2013, 10:59 AM
In two weeks I will be going to stay in a cabin with my wife just outside of Barriere, BC. It's in region 3-37 and I plan to try to catch some grouse. This is my first time ever hunting alone and I was hoping you guys could give me some pointers. I have a scoped 10/22, but I plan on taking the scope off and just using the iron sights. I was reading that in the hunting synopsis that a feathered wing must be left on the bird. When can I legally take this wing off? Any other things that I should know?

oh, one other question. Is it lawful for my wife to carry a shotgun alongside with me? She won't be using it to hunt, but this will be mainly for protection. If it's a grey area, then we won't take it.

Thanks everyone.

Chody
08-29-2013, 11:17 AM
i usually leave the feathered wings on till i cook it(usually same day) And yes as long as your wife is with you she can carry(must be with someone with a PAL)

shadowhunter
08-29-2013, 11:19 AM
In two weeks I will be going to stay in a cabin with my wife just outside of Barriere, BC. It's in region 3-37 and I plan to try to catch some grouse. This is my first time ever hunting alone and I was hoping you guys could give me some pointers. I have a scoped 10/22, but I plan on taking the scope off and just using the iron sights. I was reading that in the hunting synopsis that a feathered wing must be left on the bird. When can I legally take this wing off? Any other things that I should know?

oh, one other question. Is it lawful for my wife to carry a shotgun alongside with me? She won't be using it to hunt, but this will be mainly for protection. If it's a grey area, then we won't take it.

Thanks everyone.