PDA

View Full Version : I need a picture of fully smoked pink salmon

MR.uninformed
08-20-2013, 05:40 PM
It's my first time smoking salmon and I got a couple pinks from the squamish river in the smoker right now, it's been smoking for about 5 hours and i'm not sure if it's done.

Whonnock Boy
08-20-2013, 05:48 PM
A picture won't tell you anything. Different smoker temperatures will give you different results on how it looks. I test it with touch just like a steak. The firmer it is, the dryer it is going to be. There is a bit of a knack to it. I like it done to a medium, to medium well for a more moist smoked salmon. Good luck....

Mikey Rafiki
08-20-2013, 05:49 PM
Maybe post a pic if you can. I'm mobile right now so don't have any pics. You can always put it in a little longer later if you want to take a chunk out and try it. If the tail end is starting to dry out you should be good. There will also be beads of oil showing on the surface.

adriaticum
08-20-2013, 06:19 PM
http://www.milojko.com/fishing/20120923_195317.jpg

Ha,ha sweet dilemma to have.
This is smoked in a hot smoker.
Depending on what you have it will be different. This is very smokey alder.
Like the guys said picture won't give you the full story. There are many factors. Brine type, wood type, hot/cold, age of smoker etc.
Break a piece and try it.
Likey / no likey!

bighorn
08-20-2013, 07:19 PM
i take a little taste,i like mine medium rare

goatdancer
08-21-2013, 01:10 PM
It's my first time smoking salmon and I got a couple pinks from the squamish river in the smoker right now, it's been smoking for about 5 hours and i'm not sure if it's done.

I smoked a bunch of chum yesterday and it was done in 4 hours. Pinks should be less because they are a lot thinner, unless you want them really dry.

goatdancer
08-21-2013, 01:11 PM
http://www.milojko.com/fishing/20120923_195317.jpg

Ha,ha sweet dilemma to have.
This is smoked in a hot smoker.