PDA

View Full Version : School me on bow hunting

kilometers
08-16-2013, 08:13 PM
So it's my first year bow hunting. i plan on going out for the local bow only september 1 mainly for moose but their is deer in one of my areas i hunt And I got some questions or lookin for advice. I know practise practise and i am confident at 30 yards all day. And workin the 50 but doubt I will take a long shot

whats your longest kill shot yardage?
where is your comfort zone ?

Shooting outta a tree say 15 feet up. Do you aim low like a rifle? Or is the distance to short.?
i have been practising shooting down my stairs seems a .5 - 1 inch lower ? But I'm only 10?feet up and 10 yards

i was shooting a 3 blade fixed broad head and was set on it ( my dad took a xbow moose with one) But I like some of the wounds I have seen by the 2 blade mechanicals. Is it worth all the hype? Do they really fly like a field point? This might be nice for a newbie

Mechanicals ok ? for black bear?
Do you pack a gun?
Any general tips. ?

My dad is probly more stoked then me but im just happy for the week off and some nice swamp time.
http://i41.tinypic.com/2s7b5fc.jpg
http://i42.tinypic.com/s0y3xg.jpg

Kudu
08-16-2013, 08:26 PM
So it's my first year bow hunting. i plan on going out for the local bow only september 1 mainly for moose but their is deer in one of my areas i hunt And I got some questions or lookin for advice. I know practise practise and i am confident at 30 yards all day. And workin the 50 but doubt I will take a long shot

whats your longest kill shot yardage?
where is your comfort zone ?

Shooting outta a tree say 15 feet up. Do you aim low like a rifle? Or is the distance to short.?
i have been practising shooting down my stairs seems a .5 - 1 inch lower ? But I'm only 10?feet up and 10 yards