PDA

View Full Version : Kelowna + Area Elk Hunt Suggestions

Crazygiant
08-14-2013, 08:31 PM
I was wondering if anybody out there would like to help me with any suggestions on Hunting Elk in the Okanagan in MU 8-9, 8-10 and 8-12? I keep hearing that this year will be great for Elk hunting and want to have a better chance on my 1st Elk hunt.

OutWest
08-14-2013, 08:44 PM
It's no secret that Region 8 holds elk. Your location says Keowna. There's no better way to get information than by getting your boots on the ground and doing some scouting yourself.

Crazygiant
08-14-2013, 08:50 PM
Thanks Nick!
That is definitely sound advice.
I'm very new at the whole hunting scene, especially big game. I've never really scouted before either.

.300WSMImpact!
08-14-2013, 08:52 PM
good luck its a very tough hunt, you should be able to see elk and play around with them, but with the high harvest numbers 6 point elk are very tough to find, good look pound some ground you will find them

doubled
08-14-2013, 08:56 PM
Elk are here but they are tough with the amount of hunters here too. Across the lake and in the burn, you will find them. Be prepared to walk.

one-shot-wonder
08-14-2013, 09:01 PM
An Okanagan bull elk is an accomplishment, put in time and burn up some boot leather, you will undoubtedly be into sign if you focus on the units you have mentioned. If I were you I would personally focus down Hwy 33...think east of town.

OutWest
08-14-2013, 09:45 PM
Thanks Nick!
That is definitely sound advice.
I'm very new at the whole hunting scene, especially big game. I've never really scouted before either.

No problem. Region 8 is no gimme by any means but there are plenty of elk to be had with harvest usually being just above or below 50 bulls. 8-09, 8-14 and 8-15 usually make up the bulk of 6pt harvest. 8-04 and 8-05 always produce a few bulls as well.

Bobfl
08-14-2013, 09:48 PM