PDA

View Full Version : Jan 1-15 Pink mountain bison. Region A

tazruger
08-11-2013, 06:05 PM
I've been reading the forums on the site and I haven't gotten a really good idea of what and where I should be calling. My options are blueberry(pink mountain) ranch, tomters, or staying at the motor inn in pink mountain. It's late in the year so there won't be much light so I'm leaning towards the inn because of the warm shower and ability to buy a cooked meal at night. We wouldn't have to wake up very early to get the hunting area due to the short days. I'm thinking of paying the fee to go through the ranch because it should make it easier? Also once I pay the fee once, am I able to go through the ranch the rest of the hunt hassle free? I'm thinking it will be me and 3 other guys. I'm going to get some snowmobiles and snowshoes and hope for the best. I have no idea though. I've read that late season hunts there might be a possibility of crossing the cypress creek? I'm new to bison hunting and I need a little bit of help before I make arrangements.

Surrey Boy
08-11-2013, 08:47 PM
I would stay in Pink Mountain personally. It seems a local sport here to defy the indians, but if you want to pay, go for it.

bridger
08-11-2013, 08:55 PM
You can access the halfway through the cypress after the river freezes and stay at the hotel. We did that on my sons hunt. Downside is lots of traveling every day and hauling sleds back an forth. Gets tiring after a week or two.
n

Krico
08-11-2013, 09:18 PM
Lots of open water when i was up this past Jan, even though it was in the -30s...had a warm stretch the week prior. The trespass fee we didn't pay more than paid for all our snowmobile fuel.

Ry151
08-12-2013, 12:15 AM
I would stay in Pink Mountain personally. It seems a local sport here to defy the indians, but if you want to pay, go for it.
Apsolutely, don't pay the trespass fee. Stay at tomters and ride around the ranch on sleds, the bison can be on the halfway trail

Rob