PDA

View Full Version : Tips on picking an area using google earth

fishingguy44
08-11-2013, 03:24 PM
IM still fairly new to the blacktail scene. I wanna pick an area to focus on this fall and just curious on tips using google earth to pick an area to start m focus, maybe hang a couple cams up. thinking either sea to sky or sumass as im a bow hunter.

Fred1
08-11-2013, 03:49 PM
Ok... maps and google earth will only help you if you know what they are showing you. The best way to get map/google earth/ortho photo etc savey is to go out and physically look at some terrain and then go back to your "maps" and compare what you saw to what you see. I use all these tools everyday at work. Its a acquired skill and a learning process. Be very cafreful with google eath imagery - it can be very misleading. So head out an look at black tail country do a bunch of recce work and then go back to the maps - you will get a feel for what to look for on the images. Look at areas on the maps when you already been - compare. Check out swamps, cliffs, openings, rocky stuff - they may look very different on google earth. Im my opinion, there are no real short cuts to learning what these tools show you. You will get better at it and start to see the benefits and limitations to some of the mapping. Cheers!

TheProvider
08-11-2013, 04:00 PM