PDA

View Full Version : Backpacking - Tents Tarps and Bivys

behemoth
08-07-2013, 05:31 PM
Hey guys, hoping to get some advice from some seasoned backpack hunters.

My partner and I have been on a handfull of backpack alpine hunts together before and are planning a goat trip for mid October in the Golden area. I'd love to shed some weight and especially bulk this year, so leaving the tent at home is my goal.

I bought a Siltarp 2 a few days ago and have been having fun setting it up in a variety of configurations in the backyard.
We have good warm lightweight sleeping bags and pads.

Where we're going will require 1-3 nights on the mountain depending on how the hunting is.

I see photos of people in bivys inside their tarps. Is this a heat or moisture thing?

I'm trying to understand at what point you guys think our setup is not enough and that we'd need a bivy? Sorry if this is a dumb question, I have no experience with them so I don't want to miss anything here.

Cheers
Behemoth

limit time
08-07-2013, 06:28 PM
Check out Mountain laurel website or Seekoutside TeePee. Lite and comes with optional stove.

shottyshooter
08-07-2013, 06:56 PM
I bought a bivy and sil tarp for space/weight reasons. Plus I just like to be in the open to enjoy the stars and my time outdoors. Had lot's of fun with this set up but some of the tents out there are sitting at a really good price/weight ratio and, especially up in the alpine, you might find the tent a better all round option.