PDA

View Full Version : What GPS do you use?

Westcoastgunner
06-23-2013, 07:14 PM
hey everyone

Im young and new to hunting, dont have many friends who hunt, and i know how protective you guys are about your hunting spots.
So im just curious about what GPS you use and if any of you have any experience using the BC Backroad Maps SD Card. Thoughts? Suggestions?
I figure itd aid me in finding new spots while exploring/scouting this summer.
any input would be appreciated.

cheers,
WCG

mikeboehm
06-23-2013, 07:19 PM
I use the garmin 62s loaded with the backroap maps sd card. Works great the best combo out there

bigslim
06-23-2013, 07:21 PM
Get a good compass learn how to use it the batteries never go dead.
Then get a GPS

Westcoastgunner
06-23-2013, 07:35 PM
Thanks mike.

Slim, i have lots of experience with a compass, thank you.
Just need a help find the backroads.

kennyj
06-23-2013, 07:55 PM
Get a good compass learn how to use it the batteries never go dead.
Then get a GPS
X2.
A map and compass is the way to go.
kenny

Sitkaspruce
06-23-2013, 08:46 PM
Garmin Oregon 450T

Check out GPSCity and GPScentral, both have great prices and compete against each other with a price match.

Cheers

SS

BernDawg
06-23-2013, 09:03 PM
I have a Magellan. DON'T get a Magellan........... I'm waiting for a good deal on a Garmin...

Ry151
06-23-2013, 09:30 PM
Oregon 450t and Montana 650. They work great but. Really want to try the back roads maps on GPS.

Sofa King
06-23-2013, 10:04 PM
X2.
A map and compass is the way to go.
kenny

some of us have graduated out of the dark ages.
yes, it's wise to know how to use a compass.
but c'mon, keep it stored in a pocket out of the way, only to be brought out under drastic emergencies.
are you going to recommend that someone should use a spear to hunt with also?

i've got a magellan triton 400 with a map card.

Sofa King
06-23-2013, 10:06 PM
I have a Magellan. DON'T get a Magellan........... I'm waiting for a good deal on a Garmin...