PDA

View Full Version : fly fishing outfit help

v-king
06-13-2013, 01:48 PM
I'm trying to decide between two combos:
- dragonfly explorer rod and reel
- redington crosswater rod and reel
I heare they are both a good setup for a total newb. What would you get?

dakoda62
06-13-2013, 01:55 PM
Like TV's, read up, and do your homework and buy the best you can afford. A quality rod and reel should last a lifetime.

Iron Glove
06-13-2013, 02:05 PM
Ask if either come with any sort of a repair / replace warantee. Might come in handy, don't ask me how I know. :wink:
I've bought a number of Dragonfly outfits for my Son and Son-In-Law over the years and they've both been very happy with them and they are both now pretty decent fly fishers.
For a step us, look at the Echo rods.

Salty
06-13-2013, 02:14 PM
I bought an 8 weight dragonfly combo years ago for river salmon fishing. They're entry level at best having said that the rod is still hanging in there but the reel is about pooched partly due to me not taking care of it. Hey, it was cheap right - who cares. lol.

I'm not familiar with that Redington combo but do know that Redington makes some pretty good gear in the mid range of things. Your choice should depend on what type of fishing you're doing, with lighter weight trout set ups in the 5 weight range or so your reel doesn't do much more than store the line. If you want a heavier rig for steelhead or salmon you really want a decent reel with a good drag stystem.