PDA

View Full Version : Bear Hunting in West Kootenay area

DPreece
06-07-2013, 03:11 PM
Hello,

I'm new to the Kootenays (from Vancouver) and was wondering if anyone has had any luck with black bears in the area this season? I would like to get out there and get one before the end of the season (June 30th), so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

DP

Grizz59
06-07-2013, 09:06 PM
where do you live

DPreece
06-10-2013, 10:26 AM
Im in Trail BC. Yourself?

where do you live

Hodaka
06-10-2013, 10:44 AM
I'm in Nelson. I passed on a couple smaller ones early in the season, and a big one as well due to circumstances.
I would suggest the Paulson summit area - saw a few up there when I was travelling through a couple weeks back.

DPreece
06-10-2013, 11:04 AM
We were up in the slocan area up high on the mountain tops and down low and didnt see any a few weekends ago. Saw some droppings, but nothing else. What kind of vehicle would you need to go where you're suggesting? That's my problem, I have all the gear, but not a great hunting vehicle, so I rely on when my coworkers go out.

Hodaka
06-10-2013, 01:07 PM
Won't need much of anything special, but a truck would be recommended if you're going to bring an animal out. Paulson summit is the main highway going east to Christina Lake/Grand Forks, and a lot of the logging roads off the highway are 2WD friendly. I even hunt a bit in my Subaru Legacy wagon.

DPreece
06-10-2013, 01:33 PM
Thanks, I'll try to check that area out if I don't see anything this weekend.

Won't need much of anything special, but a truck would be recommended if you're going to bring an animal out. Paulson summit is the main highway going east to Christina Lake/Grand Forks, and a lot of the logging roads off the highway are 2WD friendly. I even hunt a bit in my Subaru Legacy wagon.

Mark_S
06-10-2013, 06:40 PM
I agree the Paulson summit will be a good spot for you to check out and most of it will be pretty 2wd friendly.

DPreece