PDA

View Full Version : Bear Question

G.A.
05-23-2013, 08:37 AM
so im invited out for a day hunt on saturday, question is...is it worth hiking high yet, like alpine elevations. im new to this but everything ive read up to now has been to stay lower..obviously for grasses an so on. ive been taken up higher on previous trips and just feel im wasting my time up there with all the brown.
i know it sbeen getting greener as the season goes but do you think its worth the hike yet?. my self i dont think it worth it yet....but im still a noob.. i dont drive so im at the mercy of the people that are kind enough to take me out, but im almost thinking of taking a pass on this one, i only have 1 or maybe 2 outtings let that i can afford to do an want them to be better odds than just driving or quading and hiking up.
im also leaning to go to boston bar area. done so much local fraser valley stuff and 2 signs of poo so far, just way to bussy down here to be worth the effort i feel

Wild one
05-23-2013, 09:09 AM
Follow the food I find sticking to the elevation that is just starting to green up to a respectable level. No food I find they head lower too much food they spread out. Key in around water even more so in areas lacking water

Myself I would stay out of Boston bar and any other popularly mentioned area. If you keep hearing the same areas from multiple people it means it sees high pressure. Yes there are bears in these areas but because of the pressure they will be more spooky. I find going into the areas not talked about I find more bears that are less spooky.

I find the bear hunting pressure is really minimal once you get past Lytton

G.A.
05-23-2013, 09:50 AM
kinda same how i felt, no green up there to me is a waste of a hike, ive even been taken up there a month ago in heavy snow..i just didnt understand that thinking...lol