PDA

View Full Version : Bone in or out?

Black Bird
04-11-2013, 08:58 AM
Hi folks,

I guess I am going to be answering this question myself over the next while, but I am wondering if people bone out their leg meat on geese or leave the bone in? I am very new to waterfowling, and have done some reading, talking to folks, and youtube watching. Here is my technique to date - PLEASE feel free to criticize and critique!

1) The geese are left in a cool place (sometimes my outdoor fridge) for about 3 or 4 days (guts in - except in the case of a couple of Canada geese that I gutted)

2) I take a table out into my backyard, wipe it down with vinegar, and then breast out the birds, get the legs and as much of the wing meat as possible.

From here I have branched out into 2 different techniques:

3a) I then give the meat a quick dip in a water/vinegar solution, wipe it down, wrap it up in saran wrap and butcher paper, label it, and fire it into the freezer.

or

3b) I put the meat into a solution of water/vinegar overnight in the outdoor fridge, swap the water out 24 hours later, rinse the meat, wrap it in saran wrap and butcher paper, label it, and fire it into the freezer.

In the case of 3a, all the meat is boned out. In the case of 3b, the leg bones are kept in.

I have noticed that the meat comes out more 'gamey' smelling with 3b, but that might also be because I have kept the broken bones in the water/vinegar. But really, I don't know. I have butchered or helped butcher about 10 deer in the past 5 years, and have never noticed much of a 'gamey' smell when doing that. This is really the first time that I noticed a bit of a smell with the meat I am butchering. Having said that, I am new to butchering snow geese.