PDA

View Full Version : At what range do you generally get a shot at a deer>

NovemberBravo
03-20-2013, 01:24 PM
I am pretty new to bowhunting and when I was shooting my bow yesterday I was thinking about what range I would generally see deer/elk at.

So I pose this question to all you bowhunters. How far away are you when you shoot deer? I was thinking that in the 20-30 yard range would be the norm but I could easily be wrong.

Bowzone_Mikey
03-20-2013, 01:36 PM
find some popcorn 'n beer and sit back and enjoy the ride.
I personally have no issues shooting an animal at 70ish or more if all things are ok ...
some say that 30 is as far as you should get ...

personal skill and commitment ... and every situation is differant

Sofa King
03-20-2013, 01:49 PM
practice, experience, and confidence pretty much determines it.
everyone will be different, as will every situation.

Weatherby Fan
03-20-2013, 02:01 PM
find some popcorn 'n beer and sit back and enjoy the ride.
I personally have no issues shooting an animal at 70ish or more if all things are ok ...
some say that 30 is as far as you should get ...

personal skill and commitment ... and every situation is differant

http://i1087.photobucket.com/albums/j466/WeatherbyFan65/watchdrama8jm.gif More than 70 yards with a bow........I didn't know Weatherby made a "MAGNUM BOW" :mrgreen:

As you practice more with your bow you will know where your comfort level is when the accuracy falls off.

The Hermit
03-20-2013, 02:06 PM
Mikey - Man I can hardly see the deer at that distance let alone hold on the vitals and expect it not to move or catch a branch etc... LOL

monasheemountainman
03-20-2013, 02:25 PM
im comfortable up to 50 yards with all elements in check. obviously it depends on your practice, confidence and skill. i shoot at least 6 arrows a day, indoors and practice outside when i have the time. you really need to practice in all the elements if you plan on hunting in all of them.

The Dawg
03-20-2013, 02:25 PM