PDA

View Full Version : what do you all think

wsm
03-17-2013, 12:29 PM
http://www.thepetitionsite.com/925/177/938/stop-the-any-mule-deer-buck-season-in-the-east-kootenay/

olympia
03-17-2013, 12:45 PM
im not with or against this petition just yet. My question is, what percent of the mule population is being killed by predators vs hunters? if a very small percent is going to hunters than stopping the any buck hunt will do little, personally I think they need to bring in biologists to figure out just exactly what the cause is. If its determined by "real world" people that its the hunters that are causint the decline than I would gladly forfeit a couple seasons hoping for a bountiful hunt later. But I suspect its the increase in predator numbers and also lack of manpower/political willingness to stop poachers as well. I am by no means an expert so this is my opinion only, feel free to correct me if you think Im wrong.

KB90
03-17-2013, 01:05 PM
I think there was already a thread posted with a link to this petition.

And the general consensus was hunting is not the problem.

palmer
03-17-2013, 01:09 PM
The main problem with this is, if passed the pressure will go to region 8 and 3...Thats the main problem when we close down a season the hunters move to the open region. i think when we look at closures like this we need to also look at impacts on others regions and have the same closures there. Just look at the impacts on moose in the north after GOS in 8,4,3,5 were closed....Lots of hunters in 7 and 6 now...

curt
03-17-2013, 04:32 PM
i agree 100% this has been happening for yrs region 6 as an example is a complete gong show for the any bull season !!!