PDA

View Full Version : Buck Field dressing kit

Moe.JKU
03-15-2013, 03:51 PM
Hey I was just wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this field dressing kit. I was looking to start purchasing a new one. I like it because it was light and compact. But is it complete.http://ca.wholesalesports.com/storefront/knives-tools/knife-sets/paklite-fieldmaster-kit/prod297625.html there is the link

doddatto
03-15-2013, 06:22 PM
I like it, I was looking for a kit like this as it has the gut hook and i am a noob so i dont know if you would wana take my advice.

pnbrock
03-15-2013, 07:33 PM
whatever happened to using the buck knife and rolling up your sleeves? as a precaution knives get slippery when blood covered choose a good grip.

longstonec
03-15-2013, 07:40 PM
Looking at those knives, they are not going to be nice on your hands to use, especially once they get insides on them. I tried a "gut hook" once and found it to be a pain in the rear. Buy a Havalon for a fraction of the price, or use a OLFA knife with carpet cutting blades if you really want a gut hook. Far cheaper, far better, and waaaaay sharper.

Or as said above, get yourself a good belt knife, I carry a Dunn on my belt and a havalon piranha in my pocket and pretty much only use the havalon. a small saw like a silke pocket boy is great for cutting bones. If you can shave your arm hair off your good to go!

Weatherby Fan
03-15-2013, 07:46 PM
I've used a Wyoming knife gut hook for 25 yrs simple and quick, looks like a neat kit but I'm not one to spend much money on knives, after my gut hook I've always used a $6 victorianox serrated blade knife nothing more.

tuffteddyb
03-15-2013, 07:49 PM
the handles are slippery,i have the knives.
used the lil one on rabbits,loved the blade shape ,but couldnt hang
on to them when wet.
use the big one in the truck for cutting twine and rope and wire.

Moe.JKU
03-18-2013, 08:04 AM