PDA

View Full Version : Crossfire vs. Diamondback

teleposer
02-12-2013, 09:02 AM
Was wondering if anyone has some experience comparing the 2 scopes from Vortex. They both seem to sit in the same area price wise was wondering what the difference really is.

Bit of background:

I am fairly new to the hunting game. Last year I had the chance to buy a Stevens model 200 in .300 win mag that came with the factory mounted Bushnell 3x9 scope. Although the scope has been seeming to hold zero for the few times I have shot it I am hoping to upgrade the scope. I have a 4 month old at home and work has been tough so the Crossfire or Diamond back seems to fit right into what I can afford right now. I can then throw the bushnell on my .35 rem to replace the simmons that a friend gave me.

I am hoping someone on here has some real world experience with either of these scopes on a higher calibre rifle.

Hoping this doesn't turn into a pissing match between the Leupold vs. bushnell crowd. Just want some opinions on these 2 Vortex scopes.

monasheemountainman
02-12-2013, 09:17 AM
i think leupold vs bushnell is a pretty lop sided pissing match. get the diamond back.

moosinaround
02-12-2013, 10:13 AM
I heard enough good things about Vortex scopes, I am putting one on my sons 300 win mag. Went with the Diamondback with the BDC reticle. Moosin

rcar
02-12-2013, 11:16 AM
I picked up a Diamondback as an interim scope when my Bushnell had to go into service (which took 4 months to get back!). I was really quite surprised how good it was for a fairly inexpensive scope. I ended up leaving it on the rifle and sold the Bushnell when it came back. One thing you may want to ask about if you decide on the less expensive Crossfire is how well it will hold up to the heavy recoil of your 300WM. Good Luck!

604redneck
02-12-2013, 11:31 AM
The crossfire won't hold up too the recoil I have 2 diamondback scopes both great 1 on 30-06 1 on .300 win mag crossfire on the .223 never had a problem in 4 years