PDA

View Full Version : What tips to hammer grouse with?

mungojeerie
02-07-2013, 12:47 AM
Next season I plan on trying my hand at taking my grouse with the bow rather than the .22

what tips have you found work best?

baskets? Blunts? Field tips?

madrona sh
02-07-2013, 12:49 AM
judo points

mungojeerie
02-07-2013, 01:11 AM
I'm new to archery. I have a (don't laugh now) older bow, a PSE SilverHawk. I believe it's a 55lb draw. I'm just kinda messing around with it, seems pretty straight forward, 4" groups at 20 yards. I am a little concerned about one thing, I've read a lot online that judo points, blunts etc are meant for head shots on small game only. Grouse have a damn small head and a 4" grouping does not bring a lot of confidence at a small target like that.

Can I get them in the body? What kind of damage would a judo point to to a grouse with a body shot? I'm assuming I should use fluflu arrows?

Scotty-B
02-07-2013, 12:42 PM
I've killed plenty of grouse with nothing more than a rock or stick thrown from 10 yards or less. I am not hitting them all that hard, and believe me, I am not that good of a chucker to hit them with head shots all the time - maybe once. A body shot with a Judo Point will be more than effective to knock them down long enough to go pick them up, and that is experience talking. FluFlu arrows are your friend too.