PDA

View Full Version : Choice of knife

S.Archer
02-01-2013, 01:30 PM
I am new to hunting, but have two hunts lined up for this fall. My buddy said I need 2 good knives, any suggestions? First hunt is moose the other for elk. Thanks

madrona sh
02-01-2013, 01:47 PM
A boning knife from a butcher supply.
OLFA carpet knife (The hooked one) Get at hardware store

BiG Boar
02-01-2013, 02:05 PM
Olfa knife with carpet blades and regular blades. Best knife out there.

The Hermit
02-01-2013, 02:08 PM
Fallkniven F1 AND Havalon Piranta with extra blades https://www.vantagepoint-outfitters.com/hunting-and-skinning-knives/

madrona sh
02-01-2013, 02:08 PM
I find the reg blade OLFA a pain to cut out assholes personaly.

Everett
02-01-2013, 04:32 PM
Helle knives of Norway hands down my favorite there also works of art. Best part is you can buy just the blade and make the handle yourself to suit your own hand. The blades for the most part are laminated steel. Myself, wife and most of our hunting partners use them I have at least 6 our 7. http://www.helle.no/

Shooter
02-01-2013, 04:36 PM
I will HIGHLY recommend a Havalon Piranta knife and then just a simple fixed blade to sit on your belt.

msharkey
02-01-2013, 05:41 PM
Enzo Trapper and/or Camper. Great knives,super steel - strop them to razor sharpness- literally!

bruin
02-01-2013, 06:13 PM
Fallkniven F1 AND Havalon Piranta with extra blades https://www.vantagepoint-outfitters.com/hunting-and-skinning-knives/

Highly recommend the Havalon Knives. I carry a multitool, a havalon and a saw (if needed) for everything now. Havalon does all the meat and caping, super cheap and always sharp! I hate carpet and hooked knives because I always find I pop something I don't want to pop with the sharp point. Much prefer a drop point knife

WKCotts
02-01-2013, 07:53 PM
Havalon Piranta and a Knives of Alaska skinner

Ambush
02-01-2013, 08:57 PM