PDA

View Full Version : Why 4 pt seasons?

Gateholio
12-16-2006, 01:38 AM
Just as an offshoot of the "any buck" thread, I t?ought i woudl start a thread discussing *why* e have 4 pt seasons.

All comments are viable here:

8-)

Steeleco
12-16-2006, 07:55 AM
Why indeed??, I'm not a prolific hunter, but get a field as often as time permits. I envy and admire the people that have the patience to hunt an animal year after year till successful. But in general I have wondered for some time if we only hunt the largest of animals in any season will we not eventually reduce the gene pool to such a point that the larger creatures are hard to find? I know the 5pt vs 6pt debate on Elk has been ongoing for ever, I draw a parralell to 4 pt deer in this post.

I'm not going on science, just what I think is logical (at least to me!!)

Have the size of our local game fish not been reduced, due to everyone wanting the lunker????

sealevel
12-16-2006, 08:20 AM
One good thing thats come of it is a lot of slob hunters have quit and stay in the bar. These are just my own observations and they are from a man how is in the bush over 250 days a year. Our buck to doe ratio is getting a lot better. And the amount of 4 points i have seen in the last 5 years tells me its working well. But in saying that in the last 2 years i have seen huge 2 and 3 points that are big bodyd heathy deer are these deer passing on those genes --i don`t know. For now its working well but time will tell

oscar makonka
12-16-2006, 09:07 AM
At least they live long enough to get to be 4 points and do some breeding before being shot. You'll never know how much potential all those little bucks had when you kill them when they are just 2 point teenagers.

mark
12-16-2006, 10:22 AM