PDA

View Full Version : Anyone hunting goats still??

decker9
12-14-2012, 08:00 AM
Just curious, anyone else out there still chasing LEH goats??

I had planed on goin up next week for my 6-09 draw, but my poor old tundra needs a bit more TLC first, its'a long snow shoe back to the truck!. Was hoping to get up there before the rut ends, guess ill go on my next set of days off.

Any input on when the goat rut ends?? mid December??

Cheers and happy holidays!!

604redneck
12-14-2012, 10:31 AM
I wish I was

kitnayakwa77
12-14-2012, 10:38 AM
got a couple buddys still looking for goats, right now its pick your weather - wait for sunny clear days to provide some viewing contrast...hard to spot off-white on white snow on a dreary grey day. I've seen them rutting hard in mid-November, I would think that rut would be over or winding down by now, but I am no expert.

warnniklz
12-14-2012, 11:01 AM
I'm thinking about heading out for the weekend

the funny thing is last night I was looking at the 2012 goat thread... was thinking it needs more goats on it

Caribou_lou
12-14-2012, 03:37 PM
What 6-9 zone is your tag for?

I was possibly thinking on going towards Stewart in the open zone. I have a goat tag burning in my pocket!

decker9
12-14-2012, 06:27 PM
I agree Warn, dont seem like as many goats as last year does it..? Iv always wanted a big winter goat, scouted my area alot this fall, i know there was a couple crankers, was just waiting for the long hair, and now's the time!

My draw is for 6-09 A Lou, iv never hunted goats around Stewart before, but my old man has, sounds like some pretty narley country up there....and big goats to!! Hope you can make it, like warn said, we need a few more goats on here before seasons end!!

If you make it out this weekend warn, good luck! and be safe, cheers!

iwing
12-14-2012, 06:47 PM
how low have they came now? Are they toward the tops of the avalanche chutes or the bottom?

gerrygoat
12-14-2012, 07:18 PM