PDA

View Full Version : walk in cooler construction

fyffer
12-02-2012, 04:13 PM
so i have started building my walk in cooler. Next year will be my first year hunting so very excitted. being a chef I many do age and process all my own game for sure. It is going to be 10 by 6 with a prep table inside and room for 8 or so deer to hang. This is the floor. will post photos as it comes together.

http://i1337.photobucket.com/albums/o672/Brad_Fyffe/walkincoolerfloor.jpg

BCHoyt
12-02-2012, 04:19 PM
Right on... Wish I had the room for a walk in cooler and game cutting area... Next house for sure! Where are you a chef at??? PM me if you dont want to say in the open chat..

Jetboater
12-02-2012, 05:10 PM
10x6 will not hold 8 deer... not with proper humidity... we have a 12x8 and it holds 4-6 at best.... i would be using pressure treated lumber if your planning on washing it ever....

fyffer
12-02-2012, 05:29 PM
it is going to be covered and painted with a oil base paint for cleaning. Really 4 to 6 with that size i have done alot of hanging of cows ex.. which are much much larger and never had a problem wtih 4 cows in the space im in. the main thing I see is air flow as long as the air can make it way around the animal it is ok in my mind. but thanks for the input.

fyffer
12-02-2012, 05:31 PM
with the lumber I can not stand pressure treated lumber I think it is discusting. I will not allow that product on my property as it is so bad for you. i just do not want it near my food or home. but if it works for u that is kool.

lilhoss
12-02-2012, 06:19 PM
Good luck on the build! you'll love the end results,hanging and doing your own game is a blast.