PDA

View Full Version : Coastal Blacktail Techniques - Does WHERE trump HOW?

albravo2
11-28-2012, 10:11 PM
I'm pretty new to HBC and to hunting. I have been very pleasantly surprised by the people on this site sharing their time and knowledge and, in many cases, their humour. A few of you really distinguish yourselves with consistently insightful and helpful advice. So I ask my first real question of this forum: Am I spending quality time with my son and my gun in the forest or am I actually hunting with a reasonable hope of filling my freezer?

We've put on a fair number of miles this season. In the early part we were up around Placer Mtn, near Eastgate on the Hope-Princeton. We left camp in our Rhino but did our share of hiking because the terrain was well suited to walking. We saw one doe in six days of hunting.

For the past month we've been up in the Ashlu Valley near Squamish on a weekly basis at least. I read the forums almost every night and have been trying to glean info that will help us. People say to hunt south facing slopes. And hike and hike until you are far away from any road. And follow tracks.

But the terrain up that way is thick, thick, thick. For those not familiar with the area, I'm guessing it was logged in the 60s or 70s and largely left alone since. There are no fresh cut-blocks, south facing or otherwise. I haven't found a vantage point with more than 60 yards worth of terrain to survey. The main roads are overgrown for the Rhino and the side roads are overgrown even for fit people that enjoy a bit of suffering. Last weekend we found a set of tracks along the main Ashlu FSR and followed them for a couple of miles before they veered off into the woods but we could only follow them for 10-20 yards into the bush because the tracks seem to go straight through the thickest BS imaginable.