PDA

View Full Version : Beginners Luck Buck (Blacktails…)

redthorn
11-28-2012, 01:39 PM
Blacktails are hitting the ground around this time of year....

I have had the privilege of helping several new hunters over the last couple of years harvest their first animals. I'm a first generation self-taught (as in failed experiences and a lot of reading...) hunter myself, and never had the opportunity to learn from anyone. So I spent the first 3 years with out shooting anything more than grouse. That sort of frustration gives you a soft spot for those about to start hunting, and so I like to at least show them the type of terrain to be in, the signs, rubs, beds, and how to make an effective hunt happen. Also I like to make them hike hard doing it...

With a hectic schedule and baby at home, I've been limited on the overnight trips and therefore hitting the local mountain pretty hard after work and weekends. Swamps, ravines, and nice old Cedars have been my best friends.