PDA

View Full Version : Duck calling

limit time
11-27-2012, 10:12 PM
I'm still a noob to this waterfowl thing so bare with me.
When I'm out in the field and I have some decoys out ( I only have mallards), I use a mallard hen call and use this call for every duck I see.
Now the question I have is...should I be using other calls to improve my success?
If yes, when is the time to use them?
thanks.

cavebear
11-27-2012, 10:26 PM
find out what ducks are in your area. Teals widgeons and pintails can all be called with a high roller call.

Goodluck, and happy hunting

f350ps
11-27-2012, 10:29 PM
Stick with the mallard call and get good at it, no need to change up to different species. K

lorneparker1
11-27-2012, 10:35 PM
find out what ducks are in your area. Teals widgeons and pintails can all be called with a high roller call.

Is that the name of a duck call? or a duck sound?

pnbrock
11-27-2012, 10:37 PM
its an american term for a duck calling style.

f350ps
11-27-2012, 10:40 PM

It's a Primos call. K

pnbrock
11-27-2012, 10:48 PM
haha i was way off ,confused it with a hail call.googled it never seen this in stores.

cavebear
11-27-2012, 10:51 PM

Name of the call it is green looks like a whistle.

limit time
11-28-2012, 07:13 AM

lots of teal, widgeon and mallards. I now the call you refer to, it's a clearish green call.
Should I use the mallard call when they are far away. and when I can identify the bird use the appropriate one?

BiG Boar
11-28-2012, 08:31 AM