PDA

View Full Version : Initial thoughts - Black cloud close range 20ga

Ian F.
11-18-2012, 06:52 PM
Shooting lots of 20ga this year with a shoulder injury and found some Black Cloud - Close Range 20ga, #4's the other day. So I picked up a box to try. I've never used any of the Black Cloud shells, do have some friends that like it. Of the 3 mallards this morning, 2 of them crumpled, the third was a flyer, but fell from the heavens 200yards away.

So initial thoughts? I'm pretty impressed! Very hard to compare killing effectiveness, but from what I've seen I'll try a few more boxes...Blindside and Hevi-metal I'll be trying too, once I get some...

Very best,

Ian

nano
11-18-2012, 06:59 PM
I have been using the black clouds for 3 years now. Great shells I just find they are hard on my old Winchester 101 chokes. Also I can shoot ducks a little farther back out in the decoys

heyblast
11-18-2012, 07:27 PM
I like them for pass shooting on geese, but find for shooting ducks over decoys at 15,20, even 30 yds. they are a handicap. I believe their best suited for the outer effective ranges for shotguns.

Ian F.
11-18-2012, 07:38 PM
I like them for pass shooting on geese, but find for shooting ducks over decoys at 15,20, even 30 yds. they are a handicap. I believe their best suited for the outer effective ranges for shotguns.
The ones I got for 20ga, are CLOSE RANGE version, not the original

nano
11-18-2012, 07:39 PM
On a side note, any one used their stormfront shells?

field marshal
11-18-2012, 08:21 PM
Been using the 20ga. with those Ian!! I'm liking them alot!!:-D Now if my shooting suddenly goes "south" I'll probably blame it on them??:mrgreen:
Cheers----Field Marshal.

warnniklz
11-18-2012, 08:32 PM