PDA

View Full Version : Turkey Hunting

CanAm500
12-01-2006, 12:11 PM
Has anyone ever been turkey hunting. Im on the island so we cant hunt turkey here. Were is a good successfull place to go and hunt turkey. Dad and me are planning a turkey hunt next year, we need somewere to go that wouldnt costs a fortune to get there (Okanagan maybe?)

kishman
12-01-2006, 12:40 PM
As far as I know there's not as many in the Okanagan as there are further along in the Kootneys'. Last year was my first try at them so I'm no expert, but I've read posts here about guys seeing them as far north as Kelowna, Trail, Castlegar, Nelson and Cranbrook. I haven't heard many folks mention them west of Rock Creek however, here's a pic I took Whitetail hunting this fall

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k43/kishman_2006/00210001-1.jpg

Good luck!!

CanAm500
12-01-2006, 12:42 PM
So the kootney's would be a beter area then?

kishman, your more of an expret then me, atleast you've hunted them.

bighornbob
12-01-2006, 12:55 PM
There are some birds around the Christian Valley (8-14) but they are few and far between. Never even seen a track in the Kelowna area. If you were serious about the birds, I would head over to the Trail/Castlegar area at a minimum. Better if you could get to creston and the east koots.

I may head over myself.

BHB

Mckinney Creek Adventures
12-01-2006, 01:10 PM