PDA

View Full Version : 3 days and nights left for me..

s0ylentgreen
10-28-2012, 07:23 PM
hi all - here is my situation:
for family reasons i have to stay close to home vernon and do day hunts - im a beginner hunter
im gonna lay it all out on the line - in hopes of some help from fellow vernonites....
im after one whitetail doe for meat for the winter - my baby girls love the one mule buck i got already.

ive been doing my homework, scouting out several locations and hunting them quite a bit
keefer lake
trinity valley/bobbie burns road
mable lake road and the fsr's off it
sugar lake road and the fsr's off it

since opening day i've been after does, i've been staking out before sunrise, some hike hunting, some road hunting and some dusk hunting.

no success - places where i saw lots of does before they were open - i cant find them now... only see them on private land and if i do manage to see them where i can shoot them - they are elusive!

Any suggestions/ assistance?

dont get me wrong - im happy i got a muley with help from a friend - i throw myslef on the mercy of the court for help..........

thanks!

Bear Chaser
10-28-2012, 07:34 PM
If you haven't already you should add a few deer calls to your bag of tricks. One is a grunt tube; I wouldn't hunt whitetails (bucks) without one. The second is a fawn bleat. It could buy you just enough time to make a shot on a doe before she flees.
Whitetails like being close to coniferous cover so hunt the edges of those types of areas by setting up in a likely spot and keeping movement to a minimum.
The rut is coming up quickly and bucks will be travelling especially the young ones. A yearling whitetail buck will taste as good as a doe.
Good luck.

Bc Deer Hunter
10-28-2012, 07:34 PM
Take any back road off of dee lake FSR There is a whole wack of whities around those parts. Send me a pm if you would like for me to narrow it down for ya! Later..

ncurrie
10-28-2012, 07:36 PM
Or go to cherryville up Southfork or up heckmans