PDA

View Full Version : Spotting scope power vs money difference

limit time
10-21-2012, 03:03 PM
I'm in the market for a spotter and I'm wondering what power is best suitable for my use a 45 or 60 power.
90% of the time it will be used for glassing cuts and valleys and 10% for the odd goat or sheep hunt.
Should I spend all my money on a NICE 45 power or buy an OK 60 power?? I have no experience with a spotter and appreciate your opinion.

Regards
limit

akyne
10-21-2012, 03:22 PM
A scope at 60 power is going to look pretty lousy in anything but the highest quality glass. In my opinion, unless you're buying Leica / Zeiss / Swaro, get a good 45 power scope. I find most of my time spent glassing is somewhere in the 20X range until I want to zoom in on something. I just picked up a Vortex Viper HD 15-45 and I couldn't be more happy with it, for the money. A Bushnell Elite will get the job done in a similar fashion but they too start to suffer at the higher magnifications.

Gunner
10-21-2012, 03:31 PM
As I get older I tend to look at the weight I'm carrying more than the power of the scope.I settled on the Nikon ED50 with a 13-40X.It does everything I want it to do in an easy to carry package and great glass.It won't do what a 80X Swaro will do but it is MUCH easier to carry and much lighter in weight.I think you'll find that the 45x top end will do you fine.My young guide friends all pack the 80x Swaro,but if they screw up aging a sheep by counting annuli they are in big trouble.Also they can pack the scope because they are not carrying a rifle! Gunner

Singleshotneeded
10-21-2012, 03:51 PM
15-45X unless you're buying the Big3, 45X generally gets the job done anyway...

Rattler
10-21-2012, 06:28 PM
Highly recommend 60x in one of the big three if you can afford it. I recently used my Swaro at 60x to confirm an Immy moose at 330 yards. My partners Zeiss at 45x was adequate, but when I zoomed in at 60 with mine there was no question.

BCBRAD
10-21-2012, 06:38 PM