PDA

View Full Version : Hare question?

twodogs
10-18-2012, 08:17 PM
I'm new to the cariboo 2 years ago . I saw my first hare yesterday in my driveway. So my question is . Do they hang around the same general area all the time or do they go some where different? I sure hope this isn't a dumbass question.

Jagermeister
10-18-2012, 08:28 PM
Pretty much localized. The numbers may fluctuate over a few years (about 10 year cycle), but they do not migrate even when the snow gets deep.

Boner
10-18-2012, 08:37 PM
They really like to chew on thin aspen branches. Something I noticed from working in the oil patch. Knocking down an aspen or two might make them consider staying this winter.

twodogs
10-19-2012, 07:27 PM
Thanks for the info. guys. I let my Brittany " Fletcher" out this evening for about an hour. When I looked out the window I saw her playing with something . I called her she didn't want to come in ,but she finally did. When I went out later I saw that she had gotten a different hare. So she is one up on me.

runorrust
11-16-2012, 10:38 PM
Any tips on how to find these animals? I see tons of tracks in the snow when I go out but I haven't spotted one yet. Does it tend to be blind luck or is there a trick to it?

The Dude
11-16-2012, 10:51 PM
Dogs are the best way, but moving super slowly and observing has worked for me as well. You won't outrun them, so you must outwit them.

Rich_D
11-26-2012, 11:44 PM
Find tracks...lots of them
Walk around area with .22 in hand until you see something hop away.
Stop and watch it until it stops moving.
Put .22 bullet through head of sitting duck (or rabbit in this case)

They usually only run a few yards when you scare them up, if you stop quick enough you can generally get a good idea of where it stopped. If not, sneak up in the general direction of where it went, bino's help in this case as you can spot the shapes a little easier.