PDA

View Full Version : I hate you all / what am I doing wrong

sailpunk
10-16-2012, 07:12 PM
So this forum is torture for me. I see everyones successful hunts and I wonder what I am doing wrong. I am new to the sport/lifestyle but in the past season and a half (7 trips) have not had any success. Muler Deer in the Okanagan, Black Tails on Gambier Island and Black Bears over the Coquihalla yet no love. I have moderate gear a sporterized .303, my army surplus from my soldiering days and a good 4x4 jeep. I stop half a click from a cut hike in covertly through the trees lay down and observe. I have mastered sneaking up within smacking distance of does. I have come face to face with sow moose (not sure if that is the right term). Bumped into a cougar but no luck with bucks or bears. I am employing the drive stop hike method and I mean hike.

Thoughts? Is there something I am missing; or is it just as tough as it just newbie luck.

Please take this as tongue and cheek and help a brother out!

Amphibious
10-16-2012, 07:19 PM
Get drunk, bomb around the okanagan gravel in a quad/razor/pickup, leave a trail of beer cans. Seems to work for most of the locals around here, they all seem to get their deer.

My first year deer hunting, so i'm in the same boat as you. saw a dozen 4pts a day over the spring/summer, season opens, can't find a single spiker. I don;t like venison, so not a big loss :)

whitebirch
10-16-2012, 07:20 PM
having bumped into a couger early in your hunting career is lucky! ive hunted for nearly 2 decades and only bumped into a couple.
its really hard to say why you havent tagged something by now. from what youre saying above I might comment that you should pick an area and focus on learning it and the game there.
I would be pleased to take you out some time if your in the interior and get you a buck

Toolguy
10-16-2012, 07:22 PM
Hey Sailpunk, don't feel bad.
9th year for me, I don't go more than twice a year so your odds will be better than mine.