PDA

View Full Version : Tribute To A Loyal Friend

huntwriter
10-09-2012, 07:23 PM
http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g221/huntwriter/2011-05-22-s2-08_2.jpg

Originally published in the Merritt Herald - Othmar Vohringer Outdoors

Tribute To A Loyal Friend
© By Othmar Vohringer

On Tuesday morning (October 2nd, 2012) my loyal friend and companion for over 16 years passed away. Gazu, a Rottweiler/Labrador mix, had not an easy start in life. When I adopted him, then about one year old, from a pet shelter in Montreal, Quebec, he already had two previous owners that abused him badly. I learned that Gazu was destined to be euthanized because of the many behavioural problems he sustained from his abusers. Because of that I was at first denied adoption, however, when the manager at the shelter found out that I am a professional animal trainer and behaviourist he agreed with the adoption. My immediate concern at the time was not about Gazu’s behavioural problems. Having dealt with a fair number of animals with such issues I was sure I could cure him. My concern was what my other “pets”, 16 tigers, would think of this new addition. Training, performing and caring for the tigers took up many hours of my day and Gazu would have to fit into that schedule.