PDA

View Full Version : Please Help me

itsy bitsy xj
10-09-2012, 12:45 PM
So I'm brand new to hunting, I had some friends I was supposed to go with this year but there no longer available. Heres my delama...

I'm a single dad of a teenage girl. we live in burnaby and I MUST be here to get here up in the mornings for school. (she's not a morning person)She's out the door by 8 am I don't need to be here when she comes home from school. I work weekends atleast until Jan next year. I really want to try and get a mule deer is there anywhere I am going to be able to get out and bag one and get back to Burnaby by about 6pm? Any one interested in joining me? I have a two wheel drive pick up or 4wd jeep and small trailer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Mr. Dean
10-09-2012, 12:59 PM
That's a pretty tall order.....

I used to go up the Coq and have been successful, but I also stomped the hills all summer long too.
Several years ago I quit because the area just got to busy with other enthusiasts. Weekday, weekend,,,,, it didn't seem to matter.

Why not just get out there (pick a mountain) and see where it leads you?
In all honesty, I get WAY more outta the 'hunt', than I do outta the prize..... And I'm not kidding.

Sure, it's nice to eat fine eats but the experience/adventure that gets you there is one HELL OF A RIDE! :mrgreen:

Mr. Dean
10-09-2012, 01:15 PM
Oh.
That area was Carolyn Mines, S/E of the hwy.
And I found deer as soon as you got off pavement to as far as the road network took me. But it's tough hunting.

I found both Mulies and Blacktails in there and here's a pic of an animal I dragged out.
FYI; It's actually both sides of the same deer.

http://www.huntingbc.ca/photos/data/500/1024_4_Mr_Dean_web.JPG

itsy bitsy xj
10-09-2012, 01:20 PM
I was out twice last week with no luck, once in Chilliwack river valley and once north of Mission

Tikka270
10-09-2012, 01:31 PM