PDA

View Full Version : Tips and hints for Elk in the okanagon?

Bc Deer Hunter
10-08-2012, 02:57 PM
This is my first year going for elk. Would like to get out and have one last try on elk before the season ends, but the kootneys is a bit to far so local will have to do. Just would like some info on what to look for when going for region 8 elk, im aware that there will be going through a second estrus anytime now, but i have read that elk around here are very wary and do not like to respond to calls around hear. Also where do you typically find elk this time of year up higher or down lower? Will they still be using wallows, and do they prefer south or north facing slopes? Anything helps, thanks for reading.

Ghengis Khandrey
10-08-2012, 03:14 PM
They're all over the place, but its like finding a needle in a haystack

.300WSMImpact!
10-08-2012, 03:29 PM
toughest hunt I have ever done region 8 elk, oh the hunt is still on going year 4 no dead elk yet

Bc Deer Hunter
10-08-2012, 03:30 PM
They're all over the place, but its like finding a needle in a haystack

toughest hunt I have ever done region 8 elk, oh the hunt is still on going year 4 no dead elk yet

Thanks for your honesty!

.300WSMImpact!
10-08-2012, 03:33 PM
dont get me wrong its been a ton of fun, but the success has to be judged by visuals

Bc Deer Hunter
10-08-2012, 07:27 PM
Any body have anything?? C'mon help me out here!

OutWest
10-08-2012, 07:37 PM
Region 8 elk are actually a completely different species than those in 4 and other regions. They don't use wallows or make rubs and apparently they don't know how to bugle either. In fact, I've been told they don't even have a rut. You need to look for completely different sign than you normally would :roll:.

Bc Deer Hunter
10-08-2012, 07:42 PM