PDA

View Full Version : sheep hunting

mikek blacktail
11-27-2006, 11:32 AM
I was thinking about trying sheep hunting next season in region three around clinton or cache creek.I was wondering if anyone could help me with some info about these areas.This is the first time I've thought about sheep hunting so I'm new to hunting the species.Are the sheep in region three california big horn or rocky mountain bighorn.
When is the rut.
Where are they located in this region.
Will they stay in the same general area from may to november
any info would help I'm going to do some scouting trips next year so if anyone could point me the right way that would be greatly appreciated.
THANKS

bighornbob
11-28-2006, 11:17 AM
If your interested in sheep hunting, welcome to the biggest bunch of liars there are:lol:

First off no real sheep person will point you in the right direction thats just the way we are.

Now back to your questions. The sheep in the cash creek clinton area are californias. There are rockies and they are located in the spences bridge area. Basically all of 3-17 is classified as Rocky country even though they are probably more calis near cash creek then Rockies.

The rut is usually in the first week of November/ give or take a week. Season closes on Oct. 20 so you wont be hunting the rut. The rams might be closer to the ewes but they will not be chasing yet.

The sheep can be found any where in the area you are looking at. I have seen sheep in sheepy looking areas and others times have not. Then you see them in a field with some cows another time.