PDA

View Full Version : New to hunting, looking for a meat deer! Around Vernon...

BCKyle
09-29-2012, 09:43 AM
Hey, my first post though I have dug around in the past posts for a while. So here it is:

An Irishman, a nun and a prostitute walk into a bar.

... And the bartender says, "what is this??? Some kind of joke?"

So there's my first post joke. You never said it had to be a great one!

I am new to shooting and hunting but I am hoping to get into a meat deer this fall. I have been working up in the cariboo so I've been out a few times a bit north of dunkley and seen a lot of hunters but no deer.
I'm moving to the island and getting knee surgery so my hunting window is small: five days this week that I will be in Vernon picking up some stuff from storage and visiting family... I intend to spend most of that time doing neither of this things and instead out camped somewhere looking around for a buck; any buck!
My potential areas are MUs 8-21, 3-12and 3-26... That kind of area. Not too much of a drive but some higher areas and some cutblocks to stumpsit and stroll around. I don't mind hiking at all, prefer it to driving around... I will be going solo as my buddy who was going to come out can't anymore. So hiking kilometres into an area is less an option now that I don't have someone to help carry a deer out. I want to get within 100 yds before taking a shot, based on my target practice over the summer. i want a clean kill. Practice practice practice, I want more of it!
There's the back story... Any suggestions for ways to improve my chances of success in that area this year? I wish I had had the chance to scout the zone but seasonal work this year prevented it. I am leaning towards pinaus lake area and the cutblocks up there. Any thoughts on what the deer are doing around those areas would be helpful. Or if there is somewhere else worth considering..