PDA

View Full Version : Fishing castlegar

happyhunter
09-11-2012, 08:39 PM
So Im going to the college in castlegar for the next 8 months and I'd like to do a lot of fishing while I'm here. I've been out a couple times with very little success. Any tips for fishing the kootenay, columbia, etc would be much appreciated. I'll be spin casting and I won't have a boat to use.

OutWest
09-11-2012, 08:53 PM
There's a few good pools south of the bridge (not the Brilliant Bridge). We hit the pools on school property just below the lower parking lot a fair bit. Once it really starts to cool off and the fish slow down try a J hook with maggots/marshmallows and a bobber. Guys were consistently pulling out 10-15lb rainbows last year with that set up. Been having a bit of success with the fly rods so far.

What program are you in? I'm a second year forestry student.

happyhunter
09-15-2012, 08:21 PM
Awesome thanks. I'm in my first year of forestry. Right now all us ENVR students are in the same programs together.

Rhyno
09-15-2012, 08:38 PM
I took the IEP program a few years back. Spent many afternoons fishing the confluence right behind the college (with a few buddies and a case of beer:-P). Fly fishing from the banks in the summer/fall and soaking roe in the winter. Usually produced. Had some exceptional walleye fishing a little lower down....but that was from a boat......Good luck and enjoy the program....Lots of hunting to be had to!

smoothbor
09-15-2012, 08:48 PM