PDA

View Full Version : hunting mule deer

youngblood
09-08-2012, 09:54 PM
hey everyone i'm just getting into hunting and i live around the hope area, is there anywhere to hunt for muleys out this way or in region 2?

blackbart
09-08-2012, 10:34 PM
Hope proper is in blacktail or hybrid blacktail/mulie country. An hour or so east on highway #3 will put you in mule deer country. Lots of pressure in the Princeton area, but you should be okay to find some space once you get a km or so off of a road. Seems to me that there was an episode or two that aired on "Canada in the Rough" that may help point you in the right direction along that highway #3 corridor.

Have fun. Mulie hunting can get a touch addictive!

youngblood
09-08-2012, 11:16 PM
sounds good! thank you, your info is greatly appreciated! I would love for a mulie to be my fiirst kill! picked up a savage axis .30 06 and i love it.....lets hope i can keep her steady for that first shot!

Jelvis
09-08-2012, 11:35 PM
From Hope, go straight up on the Number 1, the Fraser canyon way you drive up through MU 2-10 to Spuzzum and you hit MU 3-14 on the right of the hwy 1.
Mu 3-14, Lytton - Boston Bar - Anderson River.
My choice for you if I were you would be, just south of Boston Bar the Anderson Main leaves hwy 1, and climbs steadily to the south west. The road forks at 6 km; left fork runs up into area with second growth, some possibility of deer, Anderson Main continues uphill to fair to poor deer, mostly mule, some blacktail, fairs not bad, sometimes, lol, By turning onto the Uztlius Creek Main, a large and varied area becomes available, with a mix of logged over, new growth and some mature timber.
Boston Bar -- Merritt Road