PDA

View Full Version : Advice on where to go for a day hunt up to 4 hours from Vancouver

Spokes and Arrows
08-13-2012, 10:08 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to hunting and live in the Vancouver area. My buddy (another newbie) and I are keen to find a spot within 4 hr drive from Vancouver... are there any places? I wonder about Logan Lake, Cache Creek area?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Btw, we're going for anything we can eat - a deer would be awesome but a squirrel will do ;)

Steeleco
08-13-2012, 10:14 PM
Hell your nearly in Kamloops within 4 hours. There's more hunting within 4 hours than your going to learn in a lifetime. Get a BC country map book, pick a spot and go learn. Remember it's called hunting, not killing. The learning is half the fun.

421fighter
08-13-2012, 10:25 PM
Don't get caught doing in a squirrel. They are a fur bearing animal.( i understand they taste like turptntine, at that)

The Dude
08-14-2012, 12:13 AM
Squirrels are vermin, kill em all. Oops, sorry........ they're protected (Red Squirrels). Dirty fuzzy tailed rats that rat me out when I'm still hunting.

Go thru Manning Park, and in between the eastern border and Princeton, ust drive, stop and walk for Mulies. Or drive North of squamish and hike for Blacktails and bears. Drive up the side of Harrison Lake and start walking.........

Geez, four hours from LML........like Steeleco said, you could hunt forever here.

BCHunterTV
08-14-2012, 06:10 AM
your in Vancouver, hit Squamish Elaho River area.

BigfishCanada
08-14-2012, 06:36 AM
Day trip??? If hunting for only that day Id try to learn about areas as close as possible?

keithb7
08-14-2012, 06:58 AM
I assume you mean driving to Kamloops for example, hunting, spend 1 night, hunt next day and drive home? Send me a PM. I can get point you in some Kamloops areas.

yota
08-14-2012, 10:10 AM
Hi everyone,