PDA

View Full Version : Stone Sheep Outfitter

Roughneck Country
07-26-2012, 11:21 AM
I am concidering a Stone Sheep hunt, and am looking for a reputable outfitter. I know the asking price is upwards $35K - $40K. Does anyone know if there is a decent outfitter that does a backpack style hunt (thus lower overhead) that has a more reasonable price? I don't care if I get a booner just a nice representative species.

If there are any outfitters looking at this please feel free to PM me. I know most outfitters are willing to work with you to come up with a reasonable price, just not sure what the market is like for Stone sheep. $40K seems kind of high to me concidering you can hunt a Dall for $10K in Alaska.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

As a side note I am a non BC resident so i can go with an outfitter before someone goes down that path.

bighornbob
07-26-2012, 11:59 AM
The costs of the hunt are based on the availability of the tags and not the overhead. Supply and demand sets the prices. So if you use horses or hike the cost will be the same.

You could try and constact the ministry of environment and find out quotas for the outfitters and see who does not sell all their tags. They may be open to lowering the price a bit, but you wont see it come down too much.

BHB

I am concidering a Stone Sheep hunt, and am looking for a reputable outfitter. I know the asking price is upwards $35K - $40K. Does anyone know if there is a decent outfitter that does a backpack style hunt (thus lower overhead) that has a more reasonable price? I don't care if I get a booner just a nice representative species.

If there are any outfitters looking at this please feel free to PM me. I know most outfitters are willing to work with you to come up with a reasonable price, just not sure what the market is like for Stone sheep. $40K seems kind of high to me concidering you can hunt a Dall for $10K in Alaska.