PDA

View Full Version : Anybody ever take a goat with a bow?

Trophyslayer
07-18-2012, 01:01 PM
I have been thinking about the idea of trying to go after a goat with a bow maybe not this year but sooner than later. I want to hear some stories if there is any. my main concern would be it not being a quick enough kill in such steep country I've herd of to many times people loosening goats even with a rifle. I have a leh this year and I know the area pretty good and there's lots of goats but to bring the bow or not is the question
I've been into bow hunting for 10 years so I know how to shoot
anybody every do it or try?

bruin
07-18-2012, 01:06 PM
I shot 1 with a now so I'm no expert! I would think it definitely increases the risk. But I think of you come prepared with ropes etc your odds are much better on retrieval.

Brez
07-18-2012, 02:12 PM
I shot one and got close (30yds or less) to 8 - 10 other billies, tying to better the first one.
They are less difficult to get close to than people think. Another occasion I had to finish of one that my partner had stunned with a rifle from a long distance. Those two and the other three bow-kills that I've been in on died real fast. I'd say as quick if not quicker than the one I shot twice in the 12 zone with a 30-06. The difficulty is getting a clear shot and not being spotted by other goats.
As for retrieval, if you can get that close to a billy, you should be able to get to where it falls, no problem.
Good luck, you will find it a lot of fun.

roymil
07-18-2012, 02:42 PM
Sounds like a PSE Jet Flight story to me................

Brez
07-18-2012, 03:28 PM
Sounds like a PSE Jet Flight story to me................
Do I know you??

Ron.C
07-18-2012, 03:52 PM
I think goat with a bow is doablle and would be one hell of a trophy to be proud of.